Do not unravel.

Unravel

To help both my physical and mental health, I have been exercising regularly for the past 4 months. This haa meant I’ve dropped a dress size and the endorphins and distraction created by the exercise are  a part of managing my anxiety.

However, when I am particularly stressed with work or feeling anxious generally, the last thing I want to do is exercise. Instead, I want to snuggle on the sofa, under a blanket, gorging on chocolate, drinking wine to numb the thoughts and watching Netflix. This does not make things better and therfore I must overcome the desire to hide and hibernate, put my hair in a high pony and move. In order to do so I have a motivational list on my phone that I force myself to read in order to avoid unraveling the hard work I’ve put in to my health.

My list:

  • I have time to think about the day…or not
  • I feel proud of myself afterwards
  • I feel physically tired afterwards
  • I like pushing myself
  • I know my heart is getting healthier
  • I know I’m getting fitter
  • It makes me feel a bit better if I’ve eaten/I’m planning to eat rubbish
  • I love the water – I feel like a mermaid
  • I love listening to my Spotify playlists
  • I feel stronger
  • It helps me sleep
  • I never regret going

I find this helps me push myself to exercise and feel those happy hormones afterwards.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

